July 15, 2024

IMPEACHMENT: Hon. Justice Omonua (Rtd.) Chairs Panel To Probe Deputy Governor Shaibu

IMPEACHMENT: Hon. Justice Omonua (Rtd.) Chairs Panel To Probe Deputy Governor Shaibu
Spread the love

By Simeon OSAJIE

The Edo State House of Assembly, the Chief Judge of the State, Justice Daniel Okungbowa, in line with last Tuesday’s resolution, has set up a seven-man panel to probe the petition against the Deputy Governor of the State, Comrade Philip Shaibu.

google.com, pub-3120625432113532, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The9jaTREND reports that the House of Assembly had on 6th March, 2024, served a notice of impeachment on the Comrade Philip Shaibu, Deputy Governor over alleged misconduct and perjury with seven days ultimatum to respond to the petition.

Due to alleged evasion by the deputy governor to be served the impeachment notice, the House ordered for a substituted means of service through the State-owned the Observer Newspaper and the Vanguard Newspapers, respectively.

The notice was published on 12th March, 2024.

Last Tuesday, March 19, 2024 during its plenary, the House passed a resolution directing the Chief Judge to set up a seven-man panel to probe the allegations levelled against the deputy governor.

The9jaTREND reports that the Chief Judge complied on Friday.

A statement signed by the Chief Registrar of the State High Court, B.O. Osawaru, obtained by newsmen, named retired Justice S. A. Omonua (Rtd), the chairman of the panel.

Three Professors from the University of Benin, UNIBEN, and Benson Idahosa University, BIU, are also members of the panel.

The professors are Violet Aigbokhaevbo, Faculty of Law, UNIBEN, Boniface Onomion Edegbai, Department of Plant Biology and Biotechnology, UNIBEN and Theresa Akpoghome, former Dean, Faculty of Law, BIU.

Other members are Surveyor Andrew Oliha, Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu and Idris Abdulkareen.

Part of the letter reads: “This is to bring to the notice of the general public that in line with Section 188(5) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the Honourable the Chief Judge of Edo State, Honourable Justice D.I. Okungbowa has constituted the PANEL OF SEVEN PERSONS to investigate the allegations contained in the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Honourable Philip Shaibu.

The said Panel of Seven Persons comprises the following persons:

Hon. Justice S.A. Omonua (Rtd.) – Chairman

2. Professor Violet Aigbokhaevbo

3. Professor Boniface Onomion Edegbai

4. Professor Theresa Akpoghome

5. Mr. Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu

6. Surv. Dr. Andrew Oliha

7. Mr. Idris Abdulkareen


B. O.Osawaru Esq.,

Chief Registrar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *