April 13, 2024

13% Oil Derivation Refunds: Akwa Ibom, Delta Receive Highest, Says Presidency

Spread the love

… Edo Govt, Others lied against Fed Govt

By Simeon OSAJIE

google.com, pub-3120625432113532, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The Federal government has given more details of the 13% oil derivation refunds made to the Niger Delta states. The revelation stayed that Akwa Ibom and Delta states received the highest refunds.

Recall that Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State had appreciated President Muhammadu Buhari for releasing the 13 per cent oil derivation to the Niger Delta States.

Wike said he spent the funds on multi-billion projects in his State, challenging his colleagues to explain how they used the 13% they received from federal government.

Following the revelations by Wike, many Nigerians raised questions about how governors from the oil-producing states utilised the funds in their respective states.

Presidential spokeperson, Garba Shehu disclosed this in a statement issued on today and made available to newsmen.

Shehu revealed that the nine oil-producing states got a total of N625.43 billion 13% oil derivation, subsidy and SURE-P refunds from the Federation Account between 2021 and 2022.

He said the date of the refund was from 1999 to 2021.

Part of the statement reads: “According to the figures, under the 13% oil derivation fund on withdrawal from ECA without deducting derivation from 2004 to 2019, Abia State received N4.8 billion with an outstanding sum of N2.8 billion, Akwa-Ibom received N128 billion with an outstanding sum of N77 billion, Bayelsa with N92.2bn, leaving an outstanding of N55 billion.

“Cross River got a refund N1.3 billion with a balance N792 million, Delta State received N110 billion, leaving a balance of N66.2 billion, Edo State received N11.3billion, with a balance of N6.8billion, Imo State, N5.5 billion, with an outstanding sum of N3.3 billion, Ondo State, N19.4 billion with an outstanding sum of N11.7bn while Rivers State was paid 103.6 billion, with an outstanding balance of N62.3 billion.”

The statement indicated that States were further paid in eight instalments between the months of October and January 2022.

“Under this category, Abia State received N1.1 billion, Akwa-Ibom, N15 billion, Bayelsa, N11.6 billion, Cross River, N432 million, Delta State, N14.8 billion, Edo State, N2.2 billion, Imo State, N2.9, billion, Ondo State, N3.7 billion, and Rivers State, N12.8 billion,” it said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *