June 25, 2024

Four Former Govs, Seven Women, Seventeen Others Make Tinubu’s Ministerial List

Spread the love


Four former governors including Nyesom Wike immediate past Governor of Rivers State, made President Bola Tinubu’s ministerial list read on the floor of the Senate on Thursday afternoon.

google.com, pub-3120625432113532, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The three other former governors are Dave Umahi (Ebonyi); Nasir El Rufai (Kaduna); Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa).

Dele Alake, Presidential spokesman, acting National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Abubakar Kyari; Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Lateef Fagbemi; also made the list.

After a long wait by Nigerians, the Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila, on Thursday, presented Tinubu’s ministerial list before the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio at exactly.

Akpabio said the list was dated July 27, 2023 and titled, ‘Request For Confirmation of Ministerial-Nominees’.

He said additional nominations would be sent to the Senate in due course. He thereafter read the ministerial list with 28 nominees.

Tinubu’s first set of nominations was overshadowed by politicians including ex-governors, serving and former members of the Senate and House of Representatives.

Twenty-five per cent of the nominees are women while 75% are men. The women are Betta Edu, Doris Aniche Uzoka, Hannatu Musawa, Nkiru Onyeojiocha, Stella Okotete, Nkiru Onyeojiocha, Uju Kennedy Ohaneye, and Iman Suleiman Ibrahim.

Many analysts had attributed the slow take-off of the Muhammadu Buhari administration to his late announcement of ministers. Buhari, who handed over to Tinubu after eight years, unveiled his cabinet six months after his inauguration in 2015.

However, Tinubu transmitted his ministerial list to the National Assembly a day before the expiration of his 60-day constitutional deadline of July 28, 2023.

The Fifth Amendment to the 1999 Constitution mandates the President to transmit the names of his ministerial nominees to the National Assembly within 60 days of assumption of office.

See the full list of Tinubu’s ministerial list:

1.       Abubakar Momoh
2.       Ambassador Yusuf Maitama Tuggar
3.       Arch. Ahmed Dangiwa
4.       Barr. Hannatu Musawa
5.       Chief Uche Nnaji
6.       Dr. Betta Edu
7.       Dr. Doris Aniche Uzoka
8.       H.E. David Umahi
9.       H.E. Nyesom Wike
10.     H.E. Badaru Abubakar
11.     H.E. Nasiru Ahmed El-Rufai
12.     Hon. Ekperipe Ekpo
13.     Hon.Nkeiruka Onyejocha
14.     Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo
15.     Hon. Stella Okotette
16.     Hon. Uju Kennedy Ohaneye
17.     Mr. Bello Muhammad Goronyo
18.     Mr. Dele Alake
19.     Mr. Lateef Fagbemi, SAN
20.     Mr. Muhammad Idris
21.     Mr. Olawale Edun
22.     Mr. Waheed Adebayo Adelabu
23.     Mrs Iman Suleiman Ibrahim
24.     Professor Ali Pate
25.     Professor Joseph Utsev
26.     Senator Abubakar Kyari
27.     Senator John Enoh
28.     Senator Sani Abubakar Danladi

Below is a breakdown of the nominees according to the geo-political zones:

Yusuf Maitama Tuggar – Bauchi
Ali Pate –Bauchi
Abubakar Kyari – Borno
Sani Abubakar Danladi – Taraba

Badaru Abubakar – Jigawa
Nasiru Ahmed El-Rufai – Kaduna
Ahmed Dangiwa – Katsina
Hannatu Musawa – Katsina
Bello Muhammad Goronyo – Sokoto

North Central
Lateef Fagbemi – Kwara
Muhammad Idris – Niger
Iman Suleiman Ibrahim – Nasarawa
Joseph Utsev – Benue
Olubunmi Tunji Ojo – Ondo
Dele Alake – Ekiti
Olawale Edun – Ogun
Waheed Adebayo Adelabu – Oyo

Nyesom Wike – Rivers
Abubakar Momoh – Edo
Betta Edu – Cross River
Ekperikpe Ekpo – Akwa Ibom
Stella Okotette – Delta
John Enoh – Cross River

Uche Nnaji – Enugu
Doris Aniche Uzoka – Imo
David Umahi – Ebonyi
Nkeiruka Onyejocha – Abia
Uju Kennedy Ohaneye – Anambra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *