March 2, 2024

Olu of Warri Appoints Amatserunleghe As New Prime Minister, Removes Ayiri Emami

Spread the love

By Simeon OSAJIE, pub-3120625432113532, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The Olu of Warri, Ogiame Atuwatse III, has ended the reign of billionaire businessman Ayiri Emami, as he appointed a new traditional prime minister for the Warri kingdom.

The Olu announced that the Iyatsere of Warri Kingdom, Johnson Amatserunleghe, will now fully take charge as the traditional prime minister of the kingdom.

He announced this during the plenary of the Warri Council of Chiefs on Thursday this week.

Other Warri council of chiefs, who were earlier required to revalidate their titles, have also been asked to return to their original positions and serve their people under the Olu’s supremacy, according to Punch reports.

The ousted Mr. Emami held the position of ‘Ologbotsere’ and served as prime minister of the kingdom during the tenure of the former Olu of Warri, Ogiame Ikenwoli.

He mounted stiff opposition to the emergence of the new Olu, insisting that he was not qualified to ascend the throne of his fathers due to his maternal heritage.

Other Warri chiefs whose titles have been revalidated include Gabriel Awala, Kofi Kartey, Robinson Ariyo, Dr. Roland Oritsejafor, Roli Oritsejafor, Edwin Olley, Solomon Arenyeka, Clement Maleghemi, Eugene Ikomi, Omolubi Newuwumi and Billy Besi Giwa.

On August 21, the Olu of Warri, Ogiame Atuwatse III, was crowned as the 21st Olu at Ode-Itsekiri, his ancestral home in Warri, Delta state.

The ancient kingdom in Delta state in Nigeria is the home to the Itsekiris and is rich in culture reflective of their Oduduwa ancestry and their early interactions with the Portuguese.

It would be recalled that Chief Johnson Amatserunleghe, Iyatsere of Warri who will now fully take charge as the traditional prime minister of the kingdom and 8 Others are currently charged with alleged kidnapping, conspiracy and brutal murder of the Okaeghele of Kolokolo Community, in Ologbo Dukedom, Ikpoba Okha Local Government Area of Edo State, Nigeria, Mr. Sunny Etchie.

All the 9 Accused persons are Iyatsere of Warri, Chief Johnson Atseruleghe, 
Micah Missah Kaka, Felicia Otikpere, female – 55; Oluwa Esimije – 38; Monday Iluwa – 58; Ayokotse Robinson – 54; Nosa Omoregie – 54; Mofe Samuel – 40; Magnanimous Omawumi – 40; Ayuwa Mofe – 65, Amerete Ejiro – 25, Onyeburutan Jeffrey – 25 and Benjamin Erewa – 39 were in Court .

The Defendants’ offence contravened Sections 516, 327 and 316 (1) punishable under Section 319 (1) of the Criminal Code Act , Cap C38, Laws of Federation of Nigeria 2004 and Section 2 (2) punishable under Section 3 of the Kidnapping Prohibition (Amendment) Law, 2013 of Edo State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *