April 19, 2024

PDP Reserves Fayosa, Anyim, Others’ Suspension

Spread the love

By Simeon OSAJIE

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has upturned its suspension of former governor of Ekiti State, Ayodele Fayose; former Senate President, Pius Anyim,  Ibrahim Shema, Dennis Ityavyar and Aslam Aliyu.

google.com, pub-3120625432113532, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

According to statement issued and signed by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Debo Ologunagba, also said the party’s National Working Committee reversed the referral of the Governor of Benue State, Samuel Ortom to the National Disciplinary Committee.

Recall, PDP had a week ago suspended the party stalwarts over “anti-party activities”, even as the party continues to grapple with a myriad of internal issues that led to the suspension and consequent replacement of Iyorchia Ayu with Umar Damagum as the national chairman.

However, the party’s spokesman, Ologunagba, in a statement on Thursday said the PDP NWC met and “extensively discussed” recent developments in the party.

“The NWC recognised the imperativeness of a total reconciliation among party leaders and critical stakeholders for a more cohesive party in the overall interest of our teeming members and Nigerians in general.

“Consequent upon the above, the NWC reverses the referral of the Governor of Benue State, His Excellency, Dr. Samuel Ortom to the National Disciplinary Committee.

“The NWC in the same vein reverses the suspension of the following underlisted members of our great Party: H.E Ibrahim Shema (Katsina State), Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti State), Sen. Pius Anyim (Ebonyi State), Prof. Dennis Ityavyar (Benue State), and Dr. Aslam Aliyu (Zamfara State).

“This decision is without prejudice to the powers of the NWC to take necessary disciplinary action against any member of the Party at any time pursuant to the provisions of the Constitution of the PDP (as amended in 2017).

“The NWC charges all leaders, critical stakeholders and teeming members of our Party across the country to be guided by the provisions of the PDP Constitution (as amended in 2017) as well as the new spirit and necessity of reconciliation, unity and harmony in our Party at this critical time,” he said.

Recall, before the February 25 presidential election, Fayose, Ortom, Anyim and others campaigned for other party’s presidential candidates and refused to support their party’s flagbearer, Atiku Abubakar. The party members anchored their actions on the mission for a southern president after President Muhammadu Buhari whose two terms of eight years will end on May 29 this year.

As Anyim and Fayose backed the All Progressives Congress (APC) president candidate, Bola Tinubu, Ortom publicly endorsed the presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Mr. Peter Obi. Ortom and Fayose are also known members of the G5 or Integrity Group within the PDP who rejected Atiku’s candidacy and the erstwhile leadership of Ayu over the call for southern presidency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *